RSS Feed

Photos: slow cooker apple cinnamon steel cut oatmeal

Inspired by this recipe we found on Pinterest (yes, I joined), we set out the crock pot last night to make some overnight steel cut oatmeal. It never occurred to me to make breakfast overnight, even though we’d made plenty of pulled pork in the crock pot.

The recipe is fairly simple: steel cut oats, butter, milk, cinnamon, brown sugar, apples, and salt (we skipped the flax seed). Pour together in the crockpot, stir, and leave it cooking on low overnight.

Steel cut oats are simply whole oats that are roughly chopped. This makes them ideal for an overnight recipe, because they take longer to cook. Instant oats would turn completely to mush.

For an incurable morning person like me (one who refills the kettle for coffee the afternoon before), this recipe appealed to the excitement of waking up with a hot breakfast ready to go.

We upped the butter and sugar quantities in the recipe, and I think that led to some excessive caramelization around the edges. Next time, we’ll try the suggested amounts. That said, this made a delicious and filling breakfast. Not too sweet, wonderful texture from the oats. I’m already looking for a morning to try it again. Great for Saturday mornings, or even to have a hot breakfast ready to start your Monday.

About Breakfast with Nick

I love breakfast. So I eat it a lot, & write about it. In my city of Columbus, Ohio & wherever I travel, I'm out to find & enjoy all the breakfasts out there.

3 responses »

  1. We tried this too, with the exact recipe, and had the same amount of caramelization (or as I would put it, burnt stuff) around the edges too….I’m wondering if it needs a bit more liquid or to not cook quite as long. Granted, we let it go for 8 hours instead of 7 (we like getting our full 8 hours of sleep).

    Did you have a ton of trouble getting your crock pot cleaned afterward? Cause we did, even with greasing it first. Let me know if you try it again with different measurements! :)

    Reply
  2. Steel cut oats take forever to cook, so this may be the way to do it. I’ve heard of using the crockpot with mixed results, maybe it’s the steelcut that makes the difference.

    Reply
  3. I’ve used a microwave rice cooker to cook steel-cut oats, and it does a great job in about 15 to 20 minutes. I zap it in increments of five minutes, stirring it and checking to see if it’s ready after 10 minutes. I would recommend that you put the cooker in a glass pie plate, because the oats can bubble out of the cooker.

    Reply

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

