RSS Feed

Photos: TeeJaye’s revisit

Just a couple of quick pictures from a recent visit to one of the TeeJaye’s Country Place restaurants. We were invited there by owner Randy Sokol, and had the opportunity to learn some more about the forty-year history of their restaurant. TeeJaye’s was started by Randy’s father, who previously owned a chain of twenty-nine Beverlee’s Drive-Ins around Ohio. While there, I couldn’t resist taking a few pictures of the food. I tried their cornmeal pancakes for the first time. The texture is different than normal buttermilk pancakes, denser and grainier.

My son dove in to some chocolate chip cornmeal pancakes, scrambled eggs, and sausage links.

And one of our dining companions had the (in)famous Barnyard Buster. Biscuits, potatoes, and eggs covered in sausage gravy. Randy said the Buster has its own cheering section. I just noticed recently that TeeJaye’s website is actually BarnyardBuster.com.

About Breakfast with Nick

I love breakfast. So I eat it a lot, & write about it. In my city of Columbus, Ohio & wherever I travel, I'm out to find & enjoy all the breakfasts out there.

One response »

  1. Cue the nostalgia! The cornmeal cakes combo plate was my morning mainstay, but nothing beats the buster (w/splats of Tabasco) at 2:09 in the am. Nothing said, "Tonight's been a good night!" like a trip to TeeJaye's. May the BlackEyedPeas take note.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers

