RSS Feed

Photos: breakfast at the Wild Goose retreat


As many of you may know, I’m a board member with the arts non-profit Wild Goose Creative. At least once a year we take a retreat together, heading an hour or three outside of Columbus to read, eat, swim, and relax.


And with that, of course, comes making breakfast. Here’s a brief travelogue, if you will, of our breakfast adventure.


Fresh eggs from the farmers’ market.


Plus some duck eggs! $3 for 1.5 dozen. I still can’t get over it.


Pancake batter.


A sight that always brings tears to my eyes: a cast iron skillet filled with bacon.


Savory pancakes, with bacon bits.



Fried eggs.


Skillet of scrambled eggs, cooked in some of the left over bacon grease. When someone says, “I could eat a whole mess of eggs,” this is what they mean.


Pssst… have you bought your tickets to BaconCamp yet?


Various ingredients and toppings ready to go.


Once all the flutter died down in the kitchen, we lined up to eat…



…and eat.


I took a stab at frying the duck eggs. Really wasn’t that hard.


My final creation: a savory, bacon-loaded pancake + roasted potatoes + fried duck egg. The true breakfast of champions.

About Breakfast with Nick

I love breakfast. So I eat it a lot, & write about it. In my city of Columbus, Ohio & wherever I travel, I'm out to find & enjoy all the breakfasts out there.

2 responses »

  1. Okay, now I think I may just a little hungry. And I wasn't about 30 seconds ago.And has anyone told John Scalzi about Bacon Camp yet?

    Reply
  2. This should be on the menu. Everyone's menu.Everywhere."I'll have the Nick, over easy!"

    Reply

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

