RSS Feed

Biscuit World | Winfield, WV


Biscuit World
(Facebook)
Intersection of Rt. 35 & Rt. 29 (map it!)
Winfield, WV 25213
(304) 586-4885
Open 5:30 a.m. to 7 p.m. everyday
Accepts cash and credit cards

Date of Visit: Friday, June 12, 2009 at 9:00 a.m.

IMPRESSIONS: On the road for vacation, we made a pit stop in rural northwestern West Virginia. We were hungry for some good grub, and having eaten at a Biscuit World before, we knew this fit the bill.


Tudor’s Biscuit World is a restaurant chain based out of West Virginia. They feature mainly biscuits, as the name implies. (Side note: why do the southern states have all the best fast food? Biscuit World, Chick-Fil-A, Bojangles. I’m jealous.)


ATMOSPHERE
: The atmosphere is that of a busy fast food restaurant, with a twang of down-home country cooking. Honestly, the best word for the food here is “grub.” It’s delicious and filling. The doors of this particular Biscuit World open into a small lobby, where you order your food at the counter, and it’s brought out to you. The menu is up on the wall – you can order drinks, single sandwiches, or good ole combos.


FOOD
: We sampled some of the breakfast basics. I ordered a simple breakfast biscuit combo, with bacon and cheese, and it came with coffee and hashed browns. My coffee was decent – standard diner brown served in an actual mug. My wife got a sweet tea – we’re in the South, after all – and it was HUGE. Look at the half gallon they gave her above!


Here’s my sandwich. The biscuits were huge and buttery, the cheese not quite melted, the bacon crispy, and the hashed browns a standard pre-frozen tablet. And it was all delicious. Seriously. I’m craving another of these just looking at the picture.


My wife’s meal: a combo of biscuit, hashed browns, bacon, and eggs cooked to order. Again, all very delicious. My sister-in-law also got the biscuits and gravy, which I didn’t get pictures of. It, too, was tasty: really rich and thick, and the gravy a tiny bit congealed. We ate it all.

SERVICE: The service is simple and straightforward. Order at the counter off the back-lit menus, get called “hon” by by the woman behind the counter, take your number, have a seat, and the food’s brought out to you surprisingly fast.

OVERALL: Biscuit World is not your healthy choice for breakfast, particularly featuring their staple of buttery, flaky biscuits. That being said, I wish we had more of these in Ohio. Every time I drive through West Virginia, you can bet I’ll be keeping my eye out for them.

OTHER LINKS:

Tudor's Biscuit World on Urbanspoon

About Breakfast with Nick

I love breakfast. So I eat it a lot, & write about it. In my city of Columbus, Ohio & wherever I travel, I'm out to find & enjoy all the breakfasts out there.

4 responses »

  1. I love biscuit world!

    Reply
  2. love this site, nick! i, too, am a breakfast fanatic, and i love reading about your breakfast jaunts (makes my mouth water, actually). i have a recipe for you. a gal in my book club has been making these pancakes for her family for decades (her kids are grown now), and i tried them and love them so much we've been eating them at least once per week, sometimes even for dinner. here it is:becky's protein packed pancakes4 eggs1 c. cottage cheese2 T. canola oil1/2 c. whole wheat flour1 t. vanilla1/2 t. saltpuree all ingredients in a blender or a food processor. grill on a griddle and enjoy!i have added cinnamon and crushed nuts to the batter as well, and that is also very tasty. these pancakes are super smooth–almost more like a crepe than a pancake. and i love that they are packed with protein. no guilt about eating as much as i want! and for maddie, i load them with pureed squash, applesauce, etc. to give them extra vitamins. try them sometime and let me know what you think!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for the recipe, Kim! We'll let you know when we try it.

    Reply
  4. I live in Cbus. I grew up in Proctorville, OH on the border of Huntington, WV. When I go home to visit family..I always stop at Tudor's. The peppi is my go to. Love it. My husband is from NY and doesn't understand. :)

    Reply

Share your thoughts!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

